Chicken Crust Meatza

One of the first non-paleo foods I wanted to find a way to convert was pizza.  What I found ended up tasting better than any traditional pizza.  I attempted a nut crust which was a huge fail and did not get eaten by myself or my girls.  My second attempt was so good that my kids (and friends!) now beg me to make it.  I’m talking about a MEATZA.  This is a pizza with a meat crust.  I’ve seen these done with ground beef and I have no doubt that they are delicious.  But if I’m using beef as a topping I think it’s a little redundant to use it as a base.  Otherwise you’re just really eating a giant burger!  What I found in my web wanderings was a crust made from pureed chicken.  It sounded kinda gross, but the pic made it look like a real pizza!  I played with the recipe some and here’s what I came up with:

Crust:

2-3 Chicken Breasts (this will depend on how big/thick you want your “crust”)
2-4 Tbsp of your preferred oil (I use a combination of Palm Oil, Coconut Oil, and/or Grass-fed Butter)
3 eggs
Optional: spices (such as Italian), garlic, fresh grated Parmesan to taste

Toppings:

Your choice! I don’t like a lot of tomato sauce on mine so I use a very thin layer along with a few shakes of Italian spices, but feel free to use whatever tomato based sauce you care to use.  I do like a lot of different meats such as grass fed ground beef/sausage, salami, prosciutto (or other ham), bacon, etc.  This doesn’t need veggies, but I do like mushrooms and green peppers so don’t forget to add any veggies you like too!  For the most part I’m dairy-free, but meatza is one of my exceptions. I simply make sure to use good quality, full fat cheeses and raw milk cheese when I can get it.  But it’s pretty much whatever you want to throw on top!  Just make sure that any meat toppings you choose to use are cooked prior to assembling the meatza.

Directions:

While you are cutting up your chicken into smaller pieces, warm your oil so it is liquid.  Place all crust ingredients (along with any options you care to use) in a food processor until you’ve created a “dough”.  Spread this onto a BUTTERED (very important!) pizza pan.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes. (Check it at 20 minutes if your crust is very thin.) When it is done, take it out of the oven and begin assembling your meatza with whatever toppings you desire.  Put it back in the oven and warm through.

Remove.
Eat.
Enjoy!

Is your mouth watering yet?

6 responses

  1. I’m going to give this a try my next pizza day!!!

    April 10, 2011 at 4:09 pm

  2. Awesome! Let me know how it turns out!

    April 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm

  3. My wife and I have tried a pizza that used almond flour as the crust and one that used ground beef…and both were delicious! Will have to try this one next :-)

    July 20, 2011 at 8:03 am

  4. Uri

    Awesome, Brandon! I hope you’ll come back and let me know how you liked it!

    July 20, 2011 at 6:32 pm

  5. Was your chicken cooked prior to putting it in the food processor?

    October 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    • No, Kelly, it wasn’t! You don’t cook it until you spread it on the pan. :)

      October 7, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.