Yes, there is a negative to bacon

If you cook it they will come.  Daughters.  Dogs.  They come from everywhere drawn by the irresistible, enticing aroma of this richest of meat products.  And therein lies the negative.  They come.  They eat.  They leave.  And you are alone without any bacon.

"What do you mean that's not for us?"

Generally speaking I can make a 3 lb pack of bacon last the week.  This is because I’m the only one who cooks it and I only cook what I need when I need it.  I thought I would save time by cooking the whole thing today.  I learned two valuable lessons: 

1.  Cooking three pounds of bacon is an invitation to a feast.  The idea of leftovers is ludicrous.
2.  Three pounds of bacon renders three cups of grease. 

The King of cooking oils.

Point number two was actually exciting.  We love our bacon grease here at Paleo Plaza (I just made that up) and there are certain things that are simply BEST in bacon grease:  eggs, brussels sprouts, and plantains come immediately to mind.  (If you’ve never had fried plantains and you want some insider secrets just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.  You’ll wonder how you lived without them!)

My point being, if you’re trying to save yourself some time by frying up a huge batch of bacon early, you’re deluding yourself.  You’ll just have to go back out and buy more bacon.  I suppose you could try frying it when no one else is at home and hiding it in the fridge, but you might just be better off buying two packs of bacon next time.  After all, there’s no such thing as too much bacon!  😉

Take a good look. It won't be here long.

Leave a Reply

