I’m handy in the kitchen…mostly

I spent the day today doing odd and end foodee things.  I don’t have the need for condiments that I once had, but every once in a while you simply WANT barbeque.  Or ketchup with your homemade Yukon Gold fries.  Or mayo for your tuna salad.  So on occasion I find myself making condiments.  I use the recipes in Mark Sisson’s book “The Primal Blueprint Cookbook” and they’re really good!  Today I made ketchup and barbeque sauce and they’re both relatively easy.

Mayo is a different beast entirely.  I’ve begun to think that I simply lack that special something that mayo makers have.  If I knew what that special something was I might be able to attain it.  Alas, I remain clueless.  I’ve tried several different recipes and this is what I always get:

 

Mmmmm...egg oil!

 

I feel pretty stupid that I can’t even whip four ingredients into a creamy substance without failing miserably.  I keep waiting for the Paleo Police to come and take away my store-bought olive oil mayo and make me do penance: “Bless me, Grok, for I have sinned…”  The only good excuse I have is that I only use a few tablespoons once a month to make tuna salad.  I don’t want to let the mayo beat me, but if I think about it I would end up throwing most of the homemade mayo out anyway.  So I suppose I shall call this the end of my mayo experimentation and stick with the store bought. *sigh*

I also made beef arrowroot gravy today.  I threw it in the Grokpot with some grass-fed beef tips and cooked it for four hours for dinner tonight.  DEElicious!  I’ll be putting pastured pork ribs in the Grokpot tonight with the homemade bbq sauce I whipped together today for dinner tomorrow night.

Lastly, I put some almonds on to soak about seven hours ago so they’re ready to go into the dehydrator now.  There’s a strange sense of satisfaction opening my refrigerator door and seeing my nut containers lined up on the shelf. 🙂

Pecans, cashews, and walnuts (whole in the back and chopped up front). Their friends, the almonds, will be joining them in the a.m.

 

2 responses

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one that can’t make mayo. I’ve tried about 5 times and never had any success. Although once, while making a aioli sauce, I accidently made mayo. This gave me the false sense that I had finally achieve what had alluded me for so long. I tried two more times after the aioli incident and failed both time. So, I simply steal mayo packets from the cafeteria for the rare occassion when I need it for my tuna.

    April 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm

  2. Robin, that’s brilliant! I need SO little and I never thought about *ahem* USING the stuff from cafeterias! It always seems so ludicrous to buy that giant container of mayo which will then sit in my fridge and get thrown out after it expires still half full. *sigh* Thanks for the great idea!

    April 11, 2011 at 8:06 am

Leave a Reply

